Jackson Gill claims the Fat Les Chip Stands Canadian Nationals Opener at Cornwall Motor Speedway!

Cornwall, Ont – Martin Belanger – Sunday, May 19, 2024 – Cornwall Motor Speedway kicked off it’s 55th season with fashion as over 145 cars showed up for opening night with many local series, a lot was on the line to start off 2024!

We started the 55-lap Fat Les Chip Stand Canadian Nationals side by side between Joey Ladouceur and Corey Wheeler, the 47s car took the lead as Mario Clair passed Ladouceur for second on lap 4. The leaders were in heavy traffic by lap 15 as Mat Williamson joined the lead pack. A great battle behind the leader as David Hebert brought caution on lap 22. On the restart, Carey Terrance had a rocket as he quickly moved to the lead as Brian McDonald joined the lead pack by halfway point. Terrance pulled away as Jackson Gill moved to second spot by lap 35. Gill chased down Terrance for the lead with less than 10 laps to go. Terrance slipped a little bit and Gill took the lead on lap 48 and never looked back as Mat Williamson finished in 2nd and Carey Terrance in third.

In the 35-lap Clyde Slinger Pro-Stock Series, Bruno Cyr charged to the lead with Bastien Caron moving to second and Kevin Fetterly to third. Cyr joined lapped traffic by lap 10 as Alain Leduc spun out and caution was out on lap 12. On the restart, Caron took the lead over Cyr. On lap 14 lap, Cyr spun in turn 4 and yellow lights were out.  Bad luck for Caron as he went too high and lost his lead. On a lap 15 restart, Yves Hamel took the lead but got passed by Kevin Fetterly as Marc Lalonde was in contention as well in the final laps, both drivers ran side by side as Lalonde took the lead with 2 laps to go. Lalonde went on to win the race.

The Next Level Home Improvement Sportsman was the final feature of the evening as Dylan Kirkland was the early leader over Donovan Lussier and Shane Pecore. The first 11 laps went on quickly as caution was out on that lap. On the restart, Lussier jumped to the lead over Kirland as Cedric Gauvreau moved to third. Lussier finished in dominant fashion winning the feature.

In the Eastern Ontario Mini-Stock Showdown, Antoine Dumouchel was the guy to beat as he led the entire 25-lap feature as Travis Lamarche and Curtis Lindsay were also there. Dumouchel came on top, winning his first of the season.

The Fun Zone Party Inflatables Novice Sportsman was the first feature on the speedway. Cedric Tremblay to the lead over Jacob Nadeau and Kent Miller. The top 2 pulled away from the field as Skylar Ladouceur moved to third. Tremblay and Nadeau went on as the laps clicked in. On the final circuit Nadeau used the inside of the track and surprised Tremblay for the win.

Next week another busy show to cap off the first month of racing with the Lightning Sprints and the Eastern Ontario Vintage Club making a first visit as a complete race program is on the schedule with the Pro-Stock having the night off.

For more information on the upcoming season at Cornwall, please visit the website at you can add us on Facebook at , twitter at @cms_speedway, and now on Instagram under Cornwall Speedway, we will use these media platforms for results and contests over the summer.

358 Modified JLB Heating and Cooling 36 Entries

A Feature 1 55 Laps | 00:18:00.643

1.60-Jackson Gill[22]; 2. 6-Mat Williamson[3]; 3. 66X-Carey Terrance[8]; 4. 124-Mario Clair[4]; 5. 151KB-Brian McDonald[10]; 6. 47S-Corey Wheeler[2]; 7. 41-Samuel Charland[13]; 8. 91-Felix Roy[12]; 9. 92P-Martin Pelletier[5]; 10. R70-Ryan Arbuthnot[17]; 11. 23-Joey Ladouceur[1]; 12. 35R-William Racine[21]; 13. 25*-Steve Bernier[7]; 14. 44-Johnathon Ferguson[6]; 15. 77E-Ryan Stabler[14]; 16. 18JR-Louie Jackson Jr[11]; 17. 66-Kyle Dingwall[19]; 18. M16-Gage Morin[18]; 19. 18-Kalen Draper[27]; 20. 13-Kevin Hamel[25]; 21. 124J-Luke Whitteker[24]; 22. 15B-Brianna Ladouceur[26]; 23. 35-Thomas Cook[23]; 24. 64-Terry McClelland[28]; 25. 88-Lee Ladouceur[20]; 26. 38J-Jarrett Herbison[15]; 27. 88L-Jeffrey Lapalme[16]; 28. ONE-David Hebert[9]

Sportsman Next Level Home Improvement 33 Entries

A Feature 1 25 Laps | 00:09:28.728

1. 61-Donovan Lussier[2]; 2. 88K-Dylan Kirkland[1]; 3. 22C-Cedric Gauvreau[6]; 4. 0-Shane Pecore[3]; 5. 88Z-Bobby Herrington[7]; 6. 94-Gabriel Cyr[9]; 7. 22S-Shane Stearns[5]; 8. 88-Fire Swamp[4]; 9. 44-Casey Swamp[8]; 10. ONE-Daphne Hebert[14]; 11. 92T-Tristan Ladouceur[19]; 12. 51-Bryan Preville[12]; 13. 7O7-Greg Brinklow[13]; 14. 21T-Trey Ladouceur[10]; 15. 29D-Justin Desrosiers[17]; 16. 35B-Brennan Moore[22]; 17. 94J-Justin Cyr[20]; 18. 33X-Alex Lajoie[15]; 19. 37-Marc Olivier McCarthy[16]; 20. 16-Matt Barbour[11]; 21. 48D-Sylvain Dupuis[28]; 22. 35D-Dylan Moore[21]; 23. 3-Adam Rozon[25]; 24. M70-Billy Cook[24]; 25. X41-Xavier Perrin[27]; 26. 98-David Andre[26]; 27. 95-Dan Jalbert[18]; 28. 04-Scott McGill[23]

Pro-Stock Alexandria Home Hardware 26 Entries

A Feature 1 35 Laps | 00:39:41.401

1. 8-Marc Lalonde[9]; 2. 194-Yves Hamel[3]; 3. 57K-Kevin Fetterly Jr[6]; 4. 921-Eric Jean Louis[5]; 5. 48-Jocelyn Roy[11]; 6. 32-Jonathan Levesque[10]; 7. 4-Rock Aubin[1]; 8. 33-Bruno Cyr[2]; 9. 5-Ian Bressette[16]; 10. 38JR-Justin Chaput[8]; 11. 73-Bastien Caron[4]; 12. 7S-Chad Vallance[22]; 13. 07-Robert Larocque[21]; 14. 72G-Denis Gauvreau[7]; 15. 1H-Denis Hamel[24]; 16. 27-Thomas MacDonald[17]; 17. 17-Marc Peladeau[19]; 18. 66-Mathieu Renaud[25]; 19. 22-Gabriel Caouette[13]; 20. 28-Burton Ward[12]; 21. 57-Donald Leduc[18]; 22. 55-Joel Renaud[20]; 23. 71-Delbert LaGrow Jr[15]; 24. 22B-Blayne Nichols[14]; 25. 3-Mike Gaucher[26]; 26. (DNS) 62-Jayson Tolhurst

Mini-Stock Ricks Ranch 34 Entries

A Feature 1 25 Laps | 00:26:11.095

1. 7-Antoine Dumouchel[2]; 2. 93M-Travis Lamarche[13]; 3. 73-Dakota Boal[15]; 4. 48-Carl Gorry[14]; 5. 88C-Curtis Lindsay[17]; 6. 37-Matt Boal[1]; 7. 19M-Martin Bernard[22]; 8. 40-Anthony Laflamme[25]; 9. 45-Dominik Blais[21]; 10. 90-Christopher Proulx[23]; 11. 30B-Jean Cedrick Bouchard[6]; 12. 49-Christian Charbonneau[18]; 13. 24-Clayton Celovsky[19]; 14. 21-Marc Andre Voyer[4]; 15. 23B-Brandon Macmillan[8]; 16. 7M-Dan Cook[3]; 17. 15B-Adrian Black[9]; 18. 42-Jeremy Levac[11]; 19. 7X-Chris Cotton[28]; 20. 75-Emily Massy[27]; 21. 115-Jean Philippe Guay[10]; 22. 03C-Colin Chisamore[24]; 23. 83-Steven Boies[5]; 24. 44-Tommy Bailey[12]; 25. 30-Marc Dagenais[7]; 26. 114L-Hugo Lavictoire[20]; 27. 29-Tyson Slinger[16]; 28. 38-Danick Cousineau[26]

Sportsman Novice Fun Zone Inflatables 17 Entries

A Feature 1 20 Laps | 00:11:44.972

1. 95JR-Jacob Nadeau[4]; 2. 61-Cedric Tremblay[2]; 3. 21L-Skylar Ladouceur[5]; 4. 42-Kent Miller[1]; 5. 33X-Marco Poirier[7]; 6. 314-Nick Mallette[9]; 7. 225-Nicolas Rousse[12]; 8. 18JR-Denis Rose[3]; 9. 15-Matthew Noiseux[17]; 10. 82-Nicolas Mainville[15]; 11. 35P-Patrick Kudrinko[8]; 12. 1W-Kyle Reif[14]; 13. 1RJR-Garin Thompson[16]; 14. 5-Mark Johnston[11]; 15. 80D-Damien King[13]; 16. 98-Paul Donnelly[10]; 17. 911-Nick Merkley[6]

Share this post