Jackson Gill claims his second win in a row at Cornwall Motor Speedway!

Cornwall, Ont – Martin Belanger – Sunday, May 26, 2024 – The Lightning Sprints and Eastern Ontario Vintage Club were in town for their first visit of 2024 along with a complete race program as the Pro-Stock had the night off. JLB Heating and Cooling was the title sponsor for the evening.

Joey Ladouceur was the early leader in the 35-lap JLB Heating and Cooling 358-Modified feature as Gilles Godard was challenging Ladouceur for the lead. Godard used the outside lane and took the top spot-on lap 5. Jackson Gill was quick on the outside lane and grabbed the second spot on lap 10 as Brian McDonald was in the mix. Gill chased down Godard and was able to pass him on lap 16. Caution was out at halfway point, Gill quickly pulled away from the field as McDonald was now in second. Yellow flag was out on lap 29. Gill never looked back and took his second feature win in a row over Carey Terrance and Ryan Stabler.

Cedric Gauvreau took the lead in the Next Level Home Improvement Sportsman 25-lap feature as caution was out on lap 1. Gauvreau in first over Scott McGill and Gabriel Cyr. Gauvreau built himself a good lead as Cyr was on the back bumper of McGill by lap 10 and passed him on the following lap. Caution was out on lap 14. Gauvreau in front with Cyr in second as Shane Pecore and Tristan Ladouceur in battle for third. Gauvreau never looked back and got his first feature win in Cornwall this season.

The 25-lap Lightning Sprints saw Tommy Decoste taking the lead over Daniel Demers and Jeremy Lafleur. The first five laps went quickly when Robert McFarlane flipped in turn 2 and red flag was out, Mcfarlane was ok. On the restart, Xavier Lauzon made quite the move taking the lead from his 4th starting spot. Lauzon had a sizeable lead over the field as caution was out with 8 laps to go. Lauzon was the quickest and got his second feature of the season in front of Lafleur and Sabrina Blanchet.

The 20-lap Ricks Ranch Mini-Stock saw Martin Bernard taking the lead over Antoine Dumouchel and Brandon McMillan as caution was out on lap 2 for debris in turn 4. On the restart, Dumouchel took the lead McMillan moved to second spot. Dumouchel slipped in turn 1 and lost 4 spots as McMillan was the new leader on lap 7. Lap traffic became a factor on lap 12 as Chris Cotton passed McMillan. Caution was out with 2 laps to go as Carl Gorry slowed down. On the restart, Cotton and McMillan went into battle as Cotton was the winner.

The Eastern Ontario Vintage Club was the first feature as Ian Gordon took the lead but Randy Gaudet was quick and took the lead on lap 2. Gaudet was the class of the field in the caution free feature winning the 70/80 division as Pete Stapper took the win in the 50/60.

The 15-lap Fun Zone Party Inflatables Novice Sportsman had Nick Merkley dominating the event as the feature went caution free.

The Pro-Stock will have their biggest night of the season with their 55-lap event paying $5,555 to win. Also on hand, the first round of the Lamoureux Pumping Sportsman Series with a 50 lap feature, a complete race program is on the schedule as well, we will start the heats at 6pm next Sunday evening.

For more information on the upcoming season at Cornwall, please visit the website at you can add us on Facebook at , twitter at @cms_speedway, and now on Instagram under Cornwall Speedway, we will use these media platforms for results and contests over the summer.

358 Modified JLB Heating and Cooling 20 Entries

A Feature 1 35 Laps | 00:13:00.516

1. 60-Jackson Gill[3]; 2. 66X-Carey Terrance[8]; 3. 77E-Ryan Stabler[6]; 4. 151KB-Brian McDonald[4]; 5. R70-Ryan Arbuthnot[19]; 6. 23-Joey Ladouceur[1]; 7. 18JR-Louie Jackson Jr[11]; 8. M16-Gage Morin[5]; 9. 44-Johnathon Ferguson[7]; 10. 66-Kyle Dingwall[10]; 11. 13-Kevin Hamel[14]; 12. 88-Lee Ladouceur[13]; 13. 47S-Corey Wheeler[17]; 14. 15B-Brianna Ladouceur[9]; 15. 18-Kalen Draper[16]; 16. 08-Chris Ferguson[12]; 17. (DNF) 40-Gilles Godard[2]; 18. (DNF) SS3-Sandy MacFarlane[18]; 19. (DNF) 17M-Gavin MacFarlane[15]; 20. (DNS) 55R-Daniel Reif

Sportsman Next Level Home Improvement 20 Entries

A Feature 1 25 Laps | 00:12:51.773

1. 22C-Cedric Gauvreau[1]; 2. 94-Gabriel Cyr[6]; 3. 0-Shane Pecore[7]; 4. 92T-Tristan Ladouceur[3]; 5. 04-Scott McGill[2]; 6. 29D-Justin Desrosiers[12]; 7. 44-Casey Swamp[13]; 8. 48D-Sylvain Dupuis[16]; 9. 1-Justin Lalancette[9]; 10. 98-David Andre[5]; 11. 21L-Skylar Ladouceur[17]; 12. 21T-Trey Ladouceur[8]; 13. 16-Matt Barbour[10]; 14. 37-Marc Olivier McCarthy[14]; 15. 14-Ty David[19]; 16. M70-Billy Cook[15]; 17. (DNF) 25-Pierre Picard[18]; 18. (DNF) 3-Adam Rozon[11]; 19. (DNF) 95-Dan Jalbert[4]; 20. (DNF) 94J-Justin Cyr[20]

Lightning Sprints 21 Entries

A Feature 1 25 Laps | 00:17:04.623

1. 96-Xavier Lauzon[9]; 2. 24-Jeremy Lafleur[6]; 3. 79-Sabrina Blanchet[7]; 4. 0-Jean Christophe Bolduc[12]; 5. 29-Stephane St Laurent[11]; 6. 57-David Daoust[5]; 7. 78-Tommy Decoste[1]; 8. 20X-Etienne Arpin[3]; 9. 44-Eric Boisvert[8]; 10. 740S-Yann Savard[10]; 11. 7K-Keven Boucher Carrier[14]; 12. 22-Maxime Nadeau[13]; 13. 6-Pascal Martel[15]; 14. 1K-Ronnie Tyo[20]; 15. 33-Patrick Boyer[18]; 16. 37X-Mark Grant[21]; 17. (DNF) 716-Daniel Demers[2]; 18. (DNF) 47-Mikael Alexandre Remy[17]; 19. (DNF) 64-Daniel Nadeau[4]; 20. (DNF) 26M-Robert MacFarlane[16]; 21. (DNS) 71-Eric Labrecque

Sportsman Novice Fun Zone Inflatables 10 Entries

A Feature 1 15 Laps | 00:04:06.142

1. 911-Nick Merkley[2]; 2. 51-Hugo Noiseux[3]; 3. 82-Nicolas Mainville[9]; 4. 18JR-Denis Rose[4]; 5. 35P-Patrick Kudrinko[6]; 6. 42-Kent Miller[1]; 7. 80D-Damien King[7]; 8. 5-Mark Johnston[8]; 9. 1RJ-Garin Thompson[10]; 10. (DQ) 7J-Jacory Thompson[5]

Mini-Stock Ricks Ranch 18 Entries

A Feature 1 20 Laps | 00:08:59.640

1. 7C-Chris Cotton[3]; 2. 93M-Travis Lamarche[8]; 3. 23B-Brandon Macmillan[4]; 4. 19M-Martin Bernard[2]; 5. 90-Christopher Proulx[9]; 6. 7-Antoine Dumouchel[1]; 7. 42-Jeremy Levac[5]; 8. 21-Marc Andre Voyer[10]; 9. 15B-Adrian Black[14]; 10. 30B-Jean Cedrick Bouchard[13]; 11. 83-Steven Boies[16]; 12. 75-Emily Massy[12]; 13. (DNF) 25R-Richard Belair[15]; 14. (DNF) 22R-Eric Roy[17]; 15. (DNF) 48-Carl Gorry[6]; 16. (DNF) 38-Danick Cousineau[11]; 17. (DNF) K49-Kevin Audet Charbonneau[7]; 18. (DNS) 43-

Xavier Metivier

Share this post